Israel's currency system


A country's banknotes and coins are among the symbols of its sovereignty.
The design of the banknotes reflects the bonds with the land and people of Israel. Most of the banknotes present a story of people, places, or events that are a part of the history of the nation and the State.


The economy's financial flows impact on the quantity of series and banknotes that are issued.


Israel's Currency System

From August 17, 1948:   
    One Israeli Pound = 1000 mils   
 From December 24, 1948:   
    One Israeli Pound = 1000 Prutot   
  From January 1, 1960:   
    One Israeli Pound = 100 agorot   
  From February 24, 1980:   
    One Sheqel (IS) = 10 Israeli pounds
    One Sheqel (IS) = 100 new agorot
    One new agora = 10 agorot
  From September 4, 1985:   
    One New Sheqel (NIS) = 100 agorot
    One New Sheqel (NIS) = 1000 Sheqalim
    One agora = 10 Sheqalim